Monday, August 27, 2012

Harbinger by John's Cahn

This book is fiction written in the form of a non-fiction. But having said that it IS a true story. The facts in this book actually happened and it's a commission to realize the times we are in as people as the country of America! It's a wake up call!!!

This book takes you through Isaiah 9:8-10

"The bricks have fallen,
But we will rebuild with hewn stone;
The sycamores have been cut down,
But we will plant cedars in their place."

The Isrealites were warned by God to turn away from their sinful ways and they did not listen so God took away his hand of protection and they were attacked by the enemy. Instead of turning to God they took a stand of defiance as it says in Isaiah 9:8-10. They said they would rebuild on their own. They would replace what fell with things that are stronger to defend themselves, never realizing it was God's hand that had been taken off. They did not turn back to God.

Now in America, we are the Isrealites. God has warned us to turn back to him and we are not listening. In this book the author takes you through the facts that have happened. From the fall of the stock market to 9/11. The dates, months, events line up with Isrealite's calendars and all fall into place. The same thing that happened to the Isrealites is happening to America, including how we as a country declared those same exact words over our people! The government spoke them!!!

In the end of the book you are basically challenged, what will you do? We see the warnings! If you knew the end was coming what would you do? Would you tell people? Would you shout it to the world no matter the cost?

The book was amazing. Amazing in the way that I had no idea the events that have taken place to the extent that they have. I looked up events that were mentioned and was shocked at how America is walking in the steps of the Isrealites! It's scary! Should bring us to the feet of God!

I would recommend to read this book! Be challenged!

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Family by Karen Kingsbury

Family is the 4th book in the Firstborn series. I have been reading the last three books straight through, that is why the only reviews I have been doing are on this series. They are just too good to put down. I am bummed I cannot borrow the next book on the Kindle like I had hoped and I cannot find it at the library! AGH! I'm going to go through Baxter withdrawls!

In Family, it continues just months after book three, Found ends. In the first book, Fame of this series Katy and Dayne found themselves being attacked by a crazy fan! Now in book four they are brought back together once again in court with their attacker. Dayne and Katy's feelings are always growing stronger but when they try to spend time together they are chased by paparazzi. In the end they have to decide if going any further in a relationship is worth it.

In the mean time Dayne is continuing to struggle with his faith, the faith of the roots as well as his birth family and what he should do. His fame status is so public he wants to protect those he cares about, even if it's at the loss of his happiness.

The Baxter family learns about a family secret that is thirty years old. How will they take the news?

This book was really good. It had so much going on and I wanted to keep reading. The only hard part with me was Katy's back and forth. She would change her mind so many times. It's easy to say what you would do if you were in the same situation but you can understand what she is going through.

I am so exited to read book five, if I can find it!

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Forgiven by Karen Kingsbury

This is the second book in the Firstborn series by Karen Kingsbury. If you have not read the Redemption series first you must start there. Karen Kingsbury has 3 or 4 series that you read in a row to follow through the history of each family that she introduces as you progress. Firstborn is the second series that follow the Redemption series.

I absolutely loved the Redemption series and when I read the first book of the Firstborn series I wasn't as thrilled. It reminded me a lot of the first book in the Redemption series. It took me about a month or more to finally pick up book two, Forgiven and I LOVED it! The first quarter of the book took time to set up the story line but once it got going I couldn't put the book down. When I was done I immediately started reading book three!


In Forgiven, Dayne Matthews is starting the filming for his new movie that he was casting for in the first book Fame. He is going back to Bloomington where a past is waiting for him but is just out of his reach.

Dayne is at a crossroads in his life. He is living with his leading lady but is not happy, he is searching for something to believe in and doesn't know what to do with his feelings. Following his heart Dayne finds more than what he expected.

This book also continues to follow the Baxter family, who you fall in love with in The Redemption series.

I highly recommend you read these series! I can't wait to see how things unfold in the lives of all those involved in these stories!

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Illusion by: Frank Peretti

Okay, I am a HUGE lover of Frank Peretti's writing. His earlier books, Piercing the Darkness and This Present Darkness are some of my all time favorite books. It has been quite awhile since he has written any books and I was so excited to read it.

As I saw new reviews coming out they were mixed on whether people liked it or not, some were even disappointed. I still kept an open mind and hoped that I would feel differently. Unfortunately that did not happen for me. I am not a fan of Illusion.

To start out I grew up being told that any type of magic was bad. It wasn't something you did or watched. Now as I've grown up I realize that that is not the case. Magic is just an Illusion (thus the title of the book). With that said it was still hard to wrap my mind around the Illusions that occured.

To start off Mandy and Dane are a very famous married couple who do traveling magical shows. When traveling one day they are hit by a car Mandy is killed. Dane is left to move to their new home, Mandy's home town, all alone to start a new life.

Mandy then wakes up. To her she is 19 years old but the year is 2010 (the day, year she died). Nothing is the same from when she lived in her hometown at 19 years old. She has to create a new identity to survive. She is doing street magic when she runs into Dane but does not know who he is. Her mind has been erased back to age 19. Though Dane recognizes something in her. Eventually they create a friendship and Dane mentors Mandy to be a better magician.

Dane is beginning to feel like he is going crazy because of how he is drawn to the younger Mandy and Mandy is confused with who she is. In the mean time she develops the ability to travel through time to create amazing Illusions that no one can believe.

The story talks about how she died and woke up at age 19, talks about Dane and Mandy's marriage. Many describe the book as a romance but it's not so much that for me. Sometimes it was hard to follow how her ability to travel through time worked and you very much have to pay attention to what your reading when things really get going.

The story is definitely a new concept it was just hard for me to get passed my initial issues with magic in general. I will not write off Frank Peretti and will look forward to the next book that he publishes. I just wish I had enjoyed this one as much as I have other ones.