Friday, April 22, 2011


by: Terri Blackstock

Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite authors. Each time I read her books I remember why. I have already read 2 other series written by her; 911 NewPointe and Cape Refuge. This is book one of a 2 book series called the Intervention series.

Barbara Covington's daughter, Emily is in danger. Her life is spiraling out of control. Barbara decides as the last straw to stage an intervention with an interventionist. They talk Emily into going into rehab, yet on the way to the interventionist is found dead and Emily is missing. Now Barbara is a mother who will do anything to find her daughter. Detective Kent Harlan is investigating the case. As he follows the evidence, he has to decide whether Emily is a murderer or a victim as well.

This book is just enough of an emotional connection to the characters to feel it's real without getting you too emotionally attached. There is also enough mystery to keep you reading. I really enjoyed this book. I am so bummed that the library does not have book 2, Vicious Cycle.

I recommend Terri Blackstock's books, you will not be disappointed.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Ransomed Dreams

by: Sally John

I ran across this book while looking at the back of the covers for the "Inspirational' stickers at the library. Those are the books they have labeled as Christian books. I've never heard of Sally John or any of her books before. The story seemed interesting so I thought I'd give it a try.

Sheridan grew up with a father who was as the House Representative from Illinois. Then she married a husband who became the U.S. Ambassador to Venezuela. One day their lives are shattered with one bullet. Her husband is shot and and becomes disabled. Their lives change drastically and they hide away in a tiny town, Tolupa, in Mexico.

When Sheridan's father dies a 18 months later her sister calls on her to come home. She has to face her fears and her past. She has no idea what family secrets she will uncover, even in her own marriage. Once again she is questioning everything, she has choices to make. Will she follow her head, her heart or what God is speaking?

This book took longer for me to read. The story isn't action packed or suspenseful. It takes you from the beginning to the end through Sheridan's struggle, all too real but worth reading. I wouldn't say that Sally John is my new favorite author but I will try out her other books as well.

Monday, April 11, 2011

The Rescuer

by: Dee Henderson

This is book seven, the last book in the O'Malley series written by Dee Henderson. But I looked on Dee Henderson's webpage and saw that she wrote another story on Jennifer, the only O'Malley sibling that wasn't turned into a book. I'm not sure how long it is but from what I can tell it hasn't been a published book. I will be reading that next on my computer next, I wish I had an ipad to read it on!

The Rescuer is about the O'Malley brother, Stephen, who was a paramedic and the last of the O'Malley siblings to Believe. Because of an O'Malley tragedy, which you read about throughout the series, he runs away to find who he is and where he belongs. One of his friends, Meghan, comes back into his life and they struggle to find where their friendship lies. Meghan is a Believer and doesn't want to commit to someone who isn't. In the midst of everything they both end up in the middle of a jewelry theft.

This book is a great way to end the series. I thought it was well written. You follow Stephen on his journey to find Christ in his life as well as the friendship with Meghan. You want to keep reading to find out what happens as well as with the jewelry theft.

The first few books in this series, especially, Danger in the Shadows has more action and suspense. This book isn't as suspenseful but the jewelry theft fits with the story line to end the series, not leaving you wanting more with another book. With Rescuer being the last book, it ends appropriately with all the siblings and their lives coming together.

I think the O'Malley series is a series that is well worth reading.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011


by: Robert Liparulo

This is the last book in a series of six in the Dream House series. This series is about a House that has secret third floor with doors, they call them portals, that take you to different times in history.The family is trying to find their mom, who was kidnapped in book one.

Through the first four books you read about the different worlds that the family go to; from civil war, jungles with tigers to gladiator times. Then they are also trying to fight a man, who they named Tskidian, who came from another time in history to the present. He is using the portals for his own gain. The family has to fight to keep their home, go to school, keep up appearances. All the while they are fighting for their lives when they go into these different times in history.

Just when you think you know how everything works, the way the author is going, book five adds a twist. I wasn't sure how the author was going to end the series in book six but you actually see how he ties in Jesus in their lives.

Being that this series in a youth series I actually enjoyed it. My daughter is reading it now and said that she has actually gotten others in her class to read it as well. I can only hope that they hang on until book six to see the true meaning behind the story.